header

Go to bandcamp and click the anime girl

At first I thought of this as a joke: I was bored and thought I'm just going to click the first anime girl I see on this website and listen to whatever stupid thing came up... I was not prepared at all for what I heard and these weeb musicians really don't fuck around. It's easy to assume it'd be all nu-house/future funk, but there's a shocking diversity of musicians who just like to use anime drawings for their albums for some reason. So I'm really serious about this, go right now, you might see something on the selling page, or randomly scrolling genres or in a daily or whatever it doesn't matter. Anywhere on this website you see some kind of japanese cartoon woman you click that and you experience things. Here is a small sample of what you'll find, these are all bands that mix metalcore and electronic dance because that puts them together nicely and makes for a nice article. I've left out a lot of obvious shit (sewerslvt, goreshit) because I can't make this page too long. There is honestly so many anime girl covers to go through I could never contain this in one article. Anime girl music needs a whole site, a whole career, a whole lifetime of study and exploration.

fallingwithscissors

pink hair! the death and birth of an angel

This is what started this whole idea, I clicked this picture and got blasted with shitty clipped cymbals and screaming immediately. Then I listened to it again about 3 times because it's really intense. The production is kind of intentionally rough, which does give it a more intense sound, but I think this latest album (which is the only one that qualified for this post with its cover art) does a better job of balancing that out without just sounding bad. There are sounds and ideas from dance music thrown in here and there in what is otherwise a very strong emotional hardcore album. One of those is the full turn into gabba in the last 30 seconds of (un)equivalent exchange. The one song that really can be called a hybrid, and my favorite on this album, is tripping > wires which brilliantly puts breakbeats and synths in between good old rock music. It's hard for me to imagine cleanly blending these two very different kinds of music, even though I've been listening to Linkin Park obsessively for a month now.

鬱P

meido happy pills

Next I clicked this weird maid and found yet another metalcore/electronic combo, but this is actually the other extreme from fallingwithscissors. The production here is now TOO clean and good instead of being minimal basement fuzz. This is a Japanese band, called utsu-P in english, and all of their songs seem like experiments, some which sound just cheesy to my ears, but some which hit so hard they make everything else worth it. Other people might actually like a lot more of their stuff than I do. Unlike fallingwithscissors, utsu-P does not fit cleanly into a single genre, this is honestly more like scene music or hyperpop. There's a mix of metalcore, EDM and hip-hop and these things are not smoothly blended, this is a sort of mash up most of the time. The tracks that seem the strongest to me are the ones that stay mostly inside of metalcore, like vivid and dull on UNIQUE. This is the clean version of metalcore with melodic guitar solos, and there's a vocaloid, so imagine like hatsune miku did bullet for my valentine.

Of course that doesn't describe utsu-P's sound which is throwing a lot of different genres at the wall and experimenting with a lot of different things. I make fun of them sometimes but I have a real fondness for musicians who do this kind of thing, like 100 gecs. They are one of those bands that is cutting and pasting a selection of their favorite kinds of music into their own weird picture without actually fully mixing them together into anything different. I really think that's a valid artistic strategy. Of the two albums I listened to, HAPPYPILLS was a lot more experimental and different people will get out of it different things. It's honestly a lot more like trap beats but then metal guitars play with the bass drum which is kind of funny.

HiTNEX VIRTUAL SHIFTERZ

page yes this is metalcore lol

Even though it's a compilation of different artists, this is like UTSU-P if they focused on one particular hybrid sound and went way deeper into it. It's just so well done I actually didn't think I'd ever hear anything like it. UTSU-p is an interesting experiment with a few great successes, but this album hits every song. trance/hardcore dance is the base for the sound, but again like utsu-p they take from the melodic side of metalcore with clean vocals and guitar shreds while retaining the heavy chugs. Leave it to fate would actually make me cry if I was feeling autistic enough today...

Lily Fury

Hinemosphere

Coming from the Japanese shoegaze label Siren for Charlotte, this is my favorite thing they've put out so far. There's three main 7 minute long tracks plus a story intro, all of which venture from rock into drum'n'bass and even soft ambient later on, and there's even an android narrator at the end of each song talking about going on a movie date with her human gf (sorry if you can't speak japanese you fucking baka yarou). Lilium Aquarium is much softer, here's where I found the cute ambient synths and emo guitar. It ends with Down by the Salley gardens which is a simple acoustic solo. They both change the tone of the album and make the whole thing a deeply heartbreaking experience. The way this album keeps going from post-hardcore style rock to vulnerable, small melodies makes it excellent for crying to and gives it a feeling of unstable angry sadness. It's a short but beautiful concept album about (I think) being an AI lesbian in love at the end of the world. Maybe I'll translate the words one day because they add a serious impact.

zombfart

page

This is a small artist who I noticed mostly because of the album covers. There is no vocalist in this music, just heavy guitars, almost an ambient sound. It's great background music but still too rough to be considered a serious recommendation, I just like the album art and also I can take credit for finding them if they blow up. Just today, August 15 they put out Hatsune Miku Tribute and it sounds cool. This also kind of reminds me of a local band we have here called Machine Death.

do this yourself

I encourage you to try this, if you really insist on being boring you don't have to just click the anime pictures, but use bandcamp instead of spotify and find music that isn't just thrown up at you by an algorithm, download things to your own computer and feel how nice it is to hear music without feeling tracked constantly, there's a nice message for you. See you thought I was just a crazy weeb NO I'M TRYING TO LEARN YOU SOMETHING i'm pumping your brain holes with my wisdom and spilling it all inside you.